The Travels of Tug 44

Crown Point Lighthouse - Lake Champlain

The Crown Point Lighthouse was built in 1858, and served at a narrow part of Lake Champlain, until 1926.

In 1912, the Crown Point Lighthouse was rebuilt and the 8 columns were added, to form a monument to Samuel de Champlain who was the first to explore the lake back in 1609. France contributed a bust of Champlain by Rodin, which remains at the site.

August 2013: The Crown Point Lighthouse as seen from land. The foundation of the lighthouse keeper's residence, long since removed, is visible in the lower right corner.

Erie Canal   -   Champlain Canal   -   Hudson River   -   Canal History

  Lighthouses   -   Canal Corp Boats   -   Tugboats & Trawlers

Tug 44 Home Page